having a shelter as a home

Being homeless and on the streets as I am,
When I’m not traveling or on the mountains I roam.
Most often times, more often than not
I end up having a shelter as a home.

It’s not the funnest place in the world to be,
Crowded into a small 7′ by 3′ space
On a little foam rubber mat I sleep
Having a shelter as a home is not a nice place.

It’s not the greatest, but it beats the outdoors
I’m usually warm laying on my little bed.
Trying to sleep by a man who snores
A shelter as a home is where I lay my head.

Running around on the streets all day
Because the shelter only feeds once at noon
Praying that things will change for the better
So I’m not having a shelter as a home soon.

This entry was posted in poems. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

