my beliefs

I apologize in advance if this offends anyone but I am a bit upset right now, yesterday i said goodbye to someone who had been in my life for a while but said some things to and about me i felt weren’t right, today I was approached ,confronted and questioned about my beliefs, i explained I believed in God and that he could heal but it was in his time and fashion not ours and that I could not force him to heal me of what I am going through, now i have had this discussion before with people and yes have had people friends and others pray for me and healing, i respect other people’s rights to their beliefs but do not try and force them on or condemn me for not sharing them, person who confronted me said it was my lack of faith that prevented me from being healed and that i needed to change my thinking and beliefs, I was raised much differently then I believe today and have grown in my own knowledge and acceptance of God’s work through me. I believe God can heal me but it may not be on this earth and I have accepted that ,

This entry was posted in my stories of life. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to my beliefs

  1. Dalene says:

    Well said, Matt! And I agree with you, but know it’s hard for a lot of people, even believes, to understand that healing isn’t always what WE think it is. You’re right in saying that it will be in God’s time, and that may not be here on earth. But we also know regardless of when that healing comes (on earth or in Heaven), you WILL receive a new body in Heaven…….one without pain!!! And in that we can rejoice! Selfishly, I wish and pray that the healing would be here and now, immediately, but God DOES have a plan for everything. And I admire you for being His vessel to use to reach others as HE sees fit! I know you have touched so many lives, and perhaps saved lives as well, even if you don’t know it, and maybe that’s God’s whole purpose for you while here. As mortal humans, we don’t understand these types of things, but through faith, we know that God sees the big picture and has the perfect plan! And you are being obedient to Him in that plan. May God bless you, Matt!!!

  2. butilookgood says:

    There will always be people who approach us with their lack of knowledge about the Bible. They pick and choose lines here and there from the Word to fit their needs and desires. Yet, in doing so, they not only take the messages out of context, but proceed to condemn those whom God actually delights. This person is missing the big picture, as well as the fact that He HAS healed you on many ocassions, to extend your life far beyond what the doctors had ever imagined.That is not the will of God!

    Moreover, God delights in those who have asked for their desires, but though they have not received it (ex: healing) still have faith that He knows best and that many lives can be touched through their journey. The Bible is clear that this life is full of hardships, disease and suffering. It is harmful and ignorant to believe this world was meant to be Heaven. It is also clear that it is through the lives of those who continue to carry their cross, despite their suffering that God is honored.

  3. butilookgood says:

    This person has also missed out on all the stories in the Bible of saints and disciples who suffered greatly with famine, being ship-wrecked, imprisoned, tortured, etc. as they followed God with their lives and faith.

    Romans 8:18 – I consider that our present sufferings are not worth comparing with the glory that will be revealed in us.

    1 Corinthians 12: 25 & 26 – “…there should be no division in the body, but that its parts should have equal concern for each other. If one part suffers, every part suffers with it.”

  4. butilookgood says:

    Matthew 25: 34 – 36 – 34 “Then the King will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father; take your inheritance, the kingdom prepared for you since the creation of the world. 35 For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, 36 I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.’

    Matthew 25: 37 -39 – 37 “Then the righteous will answer him, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you something to drink? 38 When did we see you a stranger and invite you in, or needing clothes and clothe you? 39 When did we see you sick or in prison and go to visit you?’

    Matthew 25: 40 – 40 “The King will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.’

    Matthew 25: 41 – 43 – 41 “Then he will say to those on his left, ‘Depart from me, you who are cursed, into the eternal fire prepared for the devil and his angels. 42 For I was hungry and you gave me nothing to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me nothing to drink, 43 I was a stranger and you did not invite me in, I needed clothes and you did not clothe me, I was sick and in prison and you did not look after me.’

  5. Leslie says:

    Hi Matt:

    Wow, how to start, I am not going to say I understand the pain you are going through emotionally and physically because only “You” know that pain. I am a person who usually reads the responses from other people about a blog or story to see if they are feeling what I feel after I read such an amazing story.
    I know nothing I say will change anything for you but I just wanted to say thank you for being “ you” and having such a strong sense of self-worth (because you are worthy) to fight though the obstacles you have faced in your life.
    Every time you are in my thoughts, which you will be, I will say a prayer for you that love will be given to you in a special way that day.

Leave a Reply

