a story about me

a dear friend Martha Kang wrote this piece about me ,http://www.quirksee.org/2013/09/27/matt-barrett-gentle-giant-view-from-the-street-basal-cell-nevus-syndrome/

This entry was posted in my stories of life. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to a story about me

  1. poetreearborist says:

    Hi Matt. I’ve been reading about you today after a friend of mine posted this article on Facebook. And then I found that you’re also a writer and fellow wordpress blogger. I live up in Edmonds actually. Also a writer, but never published anything outside my blog. I’m a relentless idealist exploring the themes of connection and disconnection in existence. I’m also a massage therapist by trade. However, it’s the theme of touch, as it breaks down boundaries between people, that inspires my work. Looking forward to reading more of your poetry! *God Bless*

  2. Jolie says:

    My son has been battling cancer since December 2012. What others have done and said to you is heartbreaking. My heart goes out to you and I hope you can find some relief from your pain. You have a wonderful and inspiring spirit. More people should learn from you. Much love to you.

  3. Nikki says:

    Matt – while I know this isn’t exactly the same, I understand a bit of what you are going through. I lost both of my breasts in 2010 due to cancer at age 36 and could not undergo reconstruction due to painful neuropathy in my chest wall. I also have a lower spinal degenerative disease, as well as a kidney deformity for which I had surgery last Tuesday. A “person” can be kind, loving and understanding. “People”, however, are often like untamed beasts. They gawk and stare at what they do not understand – often trying to impress one another by hurling insults or separating themselves from a reality they can not even fathom by using cruelty and heartlessness. There are times when I want to scream at someone who is staring at me, assessing the damage, so to speak. And there are those who have said things to me, or within earshot, I could barely believe anyone would be willing to let slip from their mouths. But people can be cruel. We all have the capacity for it and I hate that… it’s a fact that makes me very sad for humanity. I am so happy you are speaking out and not hiding from or because of illness. This is something you have no control over – none of us do. Sending you much energy and strength… though I can tell from what I have read that you possess both of each in a way that most people likely don’t credit you. xoxo….. Nikki

  4. I saw a post on my Facebook feed from NPR, linking the Quirksee article. Since seeing that post, I have spent the better part of two hours dedicated to reading about your journey. I watched the IDA video, read and saw the essay and photos from ilophotography.com, and have now been reading your poetry and blog.

    I felt compelled to at least comment here and let you know that your story has touched me profoundly. It reminds me in part of the struggle my own grandma went through. She was an oil painter and artistic inspiration to me. She had breast cancer, a double mastectomy, a triple bypass on her heart, had her aorta replaced with an artificial one, endured chemo, lost her hair, and suffered with Parkinson’s Disease. And all the while, she kept painting. Even when it took her an hour to simply eat a bowl of soup, she would methodically clean her brushes, apply paint, clean again, apply more paint, all the while silently enduring her body’s attempts to stop her at every turn.

    Her strength has always served as an inspiration to me, and now I have found another example of that resiliency and endurance. Thank you for sharing your story.

    I am pretty sure I have seen you out and about in years past, and wondered what your story was. I hope I am fortunate to run into you again, and in case I don’t, I now have a copy of your poetry book on its way to me!

    I hope you continue to enjoy life and inspiring those around you by simply being you.

    -Charlie Logan

Leave a Reply

